EMU BLACK, BMW M60B40 60-2 Trigger Wheel settings for Primary Trigger

Hello,

I am just beginning my tuning journey, first time with a standalone. So far it has been quite good, the EMU Black certainly is a leap forward from my oem ecu.

I did perform a search within this site to see if this had been asked/answered and I got no results, at least not relating to a BMW M60B40 :slight_smile:

I apologise for the rambling nature of this post it is not orderly at all

This is an enquiry related to the Primary Trigger settings in the EMU Black for a BMW M60B40. It has VR sensors on both the Crank and Cam triggers.

I have been scouring the web to find relevant information with regard to the First Trigger Tooth and Trigger Angle, it hasn’t been easy and I have not been able to find any definitive answer to say *this is the first trigger tooth and *this is the trigger angle for an M60B40 quad cam V8, pretty much everything relates to 6 cylinder BMW engines.

So, what should you set it to/which one is it?
#0 {i.e. first tooth after the missing teeth}?
or
#1 the 2nd tooth after the missing teeth?

And the other setting, is the Trigger Angle.

TDC (O|T) on the harmonic balancer is in line with the trailing edge of the 10th tooth (starting at 0)
In line with the leading edge of the 3rd tooth is a marking 45(degrees) V.OT (45 degrees before TDC) Could this be the First Trigger Tooth? on the rising edge?

I have been getting a scope reading on the Primary Trigger (of course I haven’t ‘saved’ anything :roll_eyes: ) to show here.
However I do have the current settings I have for the Primary Trigger as an attachment.

image_2024-01-12_010943727

I am sorry but I just cannot wrap my head around it currently and I am reaching out here for some guidance.

Once I can get it to idle, then I can confirm/adjust settings with a timing light.

BnZ

P.S. It staring me in the face isn’t it … the 45 degree V.OT is the Trigger angle?
Still doesn’t answer the First Trigger Tooth question.